Frequent Contributor

Why are the dresses so short?

The Liz Claiborne dress that was on PM Style earlier looked horrible on the lady representing the company (her name may be Carol Ann?). Why are most all of the maxi dresses dragging the floor and the shorter dresses are so far above the knee? It looked like the dress barely covered her rear. All the QVC designers make the dresses short - Susan Graver, Bob Mackie, Isaac, etc. Ok by me, it's less money I spend. I just don't understand. I would guess most of the customers of QVC are women 45 and over, and I wouldn't think most of them would want dresses so short. Is it just me? Thanks for letting me vent. I've been shopping QVC for over 15 years.

Respected Contributor

Re: Why are the dresses so short?

I hear you. I am the same way. I like dresses knee length or longer because I am always worrying when they are shorter. It must be the style now. I will just save my money.
Super Contributor

I haven't seen the LC dress you're referring to, so I can't offer commentary there. However, to respond to your question - I would guess that there's a market out there for these lengths (otherwise the vendor wouldn't keep selling them).

IMO, most of the short skirts I've seen have still been an appropriate length - particularly because I'm only 5'2", and they would appear much longer on me. I think the skirts also look shorter on the models because they are taller than the average woman.

Respected Contributor

I think shorter dresses are the style this year. Have you noticed how short shorts are? From last summer to this year the difference is dramatic. Never thought I'd see the return of the high waisted short shorts of my youth!

Honored Contributor

I didn't think they were that short.

Honored Contributor

And most of the pants are too short for the models wearing them. And then they wear four inch heels that accentuate the problem.

Trusted Contributor