Super Contributor

What would you do: rude comment on my clothing

I am 62 and retired from 1) teaching and 2) HR in a public utility. I work as a paraprofessional in a high school in order to get health insurance, frankly, as my retirement did not include it. I have worked in this school for 4 years . It’s an easy job and I enjoy working with the kids without the stress of teaching. 

Today when  I came in I overheard the receptionist saying “oh, she’s always so dressed up,” and then she flipped her hair, like “snotty.” Yes, she was talking about me. There is no dress code at this large school, and many of the teachers wear shorts and school T-shirts every day, men and women alike. I continue to dress professionally, not like I did in HR, but I wear a nice top and pants and often a cardigan every day. 

I’m hurt, because I thought we were friends. Secondly, I really don’t want to wear shorts and T-shirts to school no matter what my job is. I wanted to say something to her but haven’t yet. 

What do do you think?

Honored Contributor

Re: What would you do: rude comment on my clothing

@carlycat That was a catty remark. Sounds like that fact that you dress less casually bothers her. It's HER probelm. Consider the source. BTW, she does not sound like my definition of a friend.

You may want to re-think your "friendship" with this snot.

Just do as you have been and don't let on that you heard what she said!

Respected Contributor

@carlycat   sounds to me like she's jealous.

Continue to wear what makes you comfortable, and let her admire your good taste.   

......You look like I need a drink.....
Esteemed Contributor

@carlycat :  Sounds like your school personnel aren't doing a good job of looking professional.  When my Son was in middle school and high school the teachers frequently looked almost slovenly and in mho weren't modelling how one should look in the workplace.  I'm not talking three piece suits but decent jeans and an appropriate top.