Respected Contributor

What do you think of the rayon/spandex 95 rayon/5 spandex the vendors seems to be going to?  I like rayon when it is blended with other fabrics such as cotton/modal.

I have never liked 100% rayon and wonder if the 5% spandex makes a difference.  What I have seen during presentations is that the rayon looks flimsy (can see the models knee caps thru fabric.   I see Susan Graver is going to this and Belle has a new item also rayon/span.

I think I am going to save a lot of money not purchasing these items.  Am I missing something?

Honored Contributor

I've been buying garments of the rayon/span combo for at least 10 years...  Has a nice drape, keeps its shape and launders well.

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Honored Contributor

@Desertdi   Me, too.  I have quite a collection of tops from Chico's from at least 7 years ago --  most rayon+spandex.  All have kept their their colors and their shape--  that's much more than my experience with lots of 100% cotton although it does seem as if my 100%cotton from that same era is doing well.

And just because it's been so many years, I won't name the brands I either wear just around the house or have tossed already.  Hopefully, the brands have improved or disappeared.

Honored Contributor

I love Logo Rayon 230.  It's a silky fabric with a feel similar to SG's Liquid Knit but it's more substantial and non-clingy, more suited for winter wear.  Washes beautifully, never wrinkles.  Takes color beautifully. 

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Honored Contributor

Re: Rayond/spandex

[ Edited ]

I will not buy any item that is rayon/span.  IMO, rayon needs something to add body to it otherwise it is too shapeless and limp.  I like rayon/cotton or poly/span.  And I do have summer items that are 100% rayon.  

Honored Contributor

Re: Rayond/spandex

[ Edited ]