Esteemed Contributor

The french terry pants and crops they show always look like sweat pant material to me.  I'm never going to wear sweatpants.  Are they similar fabrics?  Probably wouldn't order anyway. The last pair of capris I ordered was two sizes too large. I had already ordered down a size (as usual) but even that wasn't enough. I donated them. Sigh.

Trees are the lungs of the Earth
Honored Contributor

Hi Skylark - I'm no fabric expert, but in my experience, 'true' french terry is a combination of cotton and polyester.  'True' french terry to me is akin to sweatshirt material.  Smooth on the outside and nubby on the underside that touches your skin.

Denim & Co offers a couple of types of french terry.  The 'true' kind (based on my definition of true above) and 'other' french terry which is a combination of cotton and spandex.  It's been my experience that the 'other' french terry is thinner and more stretchy.  It is also smooth on the outside and not as nubby on the underside that touches your skin.

Then there is terry cloth - think bath towel.

There are many elements: wind, fire, water
But none quite like the element of surprise
Honored Contributor

French terry is the material used in better grade sweats. The cheaper ones are made of fleece (not polar fleece). 

Super Contributor

I agree that the french terry pants look like sweat pants.  I got them as a TSV and would not puchase them again.  The french terry tops are made from a thinner material and I think they look much nicer. 

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Agree with the french terry definitions.  Just wanted to say that several years ago, Issac made some short spring jackets with gold buttons that were nice enough for work with a tailored blouse.

Super Contributor