Trusted Contributor

Re: Diary of a Restyled Fashionista...

[ Edited ]

@MacDUFF wrote:

@ILTH 

I hear ya...warm colors don't do me any favors either.  Agreed with your previous post that most people can look in the mirror and know what colors look/feel right.  I don't think you need an "expert" to tell you, especially one who is trying to sell you something.   I love the vivid, colorful artwork on Burch's totes!

I might take for granted that most people can tell right away because I can. Color is second-nature to me.  I'm a portrait and landscape artist, and sculptor. 

I guess there are some people who really don't know what they're seeing. But, I think too many people complicate the color issue when it comes to getting dressed. (I know why colors look bad or good, about reflected light, about how primaries, secondaries and tertiaries work together to make new colors or cancel each other out -- all of which are how and why skin color and clothing color look good or bad -- but ------)  Hold the item up to your face. If you look grey, it's not your color. If you look healthy, it's your color. IF IT MAKES YOU HAPPY, IT'S YOUR COLOR NO MATTER WHAT!

I cringe, though, when I see people who dye their hair with the wrong color and temperature for their skin. I don't judge anyone on their clothes, makeup, hair,  jewelry, piercings, etc.  But, if someone is dying their hair (other than fun colors like blue, purple, pink, etc), obviously they're doing it to try (in their minds) to look better. When I see someone who has it all wrong, I really really really want to let them know because they don't look better. But, I don't. 😃

But, I also think a lot of people take all this too seriously.  

Esteemed Contributor

Thanks so much @beautybee  and @RetRN  :heart::heart:

As to your questions, which were similar...