Honored Contributor

Anyone do the hang the hanger backwards thing?

I just started this a few days ago. I went a little crazy buying spring and summer clothes.  I have a habit of wearing favorites over and over again and some things don't get worn as much. 

So I decided to turn the hanger backwards in my closet each time I wear something. I've never tried this before but know that others do it. 

It it will give me a clearer picture of what I've worn and what needs to get worn. 

Why is it, when I have a 50/50 guess at something, I'm always 100% wrong?
Respected Contributor

Re: Anyone do the hang the hanger backwards thing?

i've tried something a little different. i always take the next dress or skirt that comes up in rotation. it forces you to maybe accesorize differently , or realize that you hate that item and put it into the goodwill box. sometimes i go back a couple but try to always take from one end and after wearing, put it at the end of the line.  works for me. 

Frequent Contributor

I do the same thing. I seem to pick out the same things & wear them. Especially, if its something new. That's an awesome idea tho. I will be trying it. I forget so easily, I have to ask my kids if I've worn before. Thanks for such a great idea!!!!

I also turn things inside out & put them away. That way I never have dust,pet hair, ect on them when I finally do wear them. I have 2 very hairy pets & always seem to have a hair or 2 on me.

Honored Contributor

@kittyloo wrote:

i've tried something a little different. i always take the next dress or skirt that comes up in rotation. it forces you to maybe accesorize differently , or realize that you hate that item and put it into the goodwill box. sometimes i go back a couple but try to always take from one end and after wearing, put it at the end of the line.  works for me.