Honored Contributor

Recommendations for a tablet or the like

[ Edited ]

I need some recommendations for, I believe, a tablet.

We have a very large old Mac computer which I use and which is still in good runnning order (knock on wood).  It is downstairs, however, and DH is now having difficulty going up and down, so what I was thinking was maybe getting him a tablet so he can use if wherever he wants.

However, I have no knowledge of electronics, technology, computers, etc. -- you name it!  And DH is not much better!

What would be a good, dependable, simple, basic, and inexpensive one to purchase?  Or is it some other type of machine that he would need?  

He loves looking all kinds of things up and e-mails, but not a lot.  Just something basic and uncomplicated.

I want to surprise him with it!

Thanks so much for your help! 

"A day without sunshine is like, you know, night." - Steve Martin
Super Contributor

Re: Recommendations for a tablet or the like

I love my iPad.  I would recommend you go to the Apple website and compare the different models.  Decide if you want WiFi only or if you want to add the cellular option.  

Because I’ve been using an iPad since the beginning, I find the Fire Tablet from Amazon less user friendly.  It is probably just that I am so familiar with Apple that I can set up an iPad in the dark, but setting up the Fire was more difficult for me.  

Also, because of some vision problems, I have the large 12 inch iPad.  It is like having a laptop with me.  In fact, I almost never use my real laptop.  The Fire screen is very small in comparison.  

There are are others who will have totally different opinions, and that’s ok.  I’m just giving you my opinion and a couple of reasons why I prefer the iPad.

Good Luck!

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

While not inexpensive I vote for Apple iPad.

Super Contributor