Honored Contributor

Re-setting older MacBook Air

Resetting might not be the correct word....I mean taking back to factory settings to increase speed, etc.

MacBook Air 10.11.6 it cannot be updated, I have tried.

It is about 8 years old.

This is my stand by laptop, I have a new one that I use daily but my DH could use this older one if I can 'reset' it.

When resetting back to factory settings will I lose all my bookmarked items?  I have already transferred my photos to the new MacBook the only other things that I would like to keep are some of the bookmarked sites...cooking sites, and other things of interest to me.

Any advise is appreciated...and is this a difficult thing to do....truly I am a novice at the interworkings of the machine.  Thank you

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Re-setting older MacBook Air

@Mom2Dogs, I will give a call out to @glb613.  She is our resident expert on this subject.  Good luck!  LM

Honored Contributor

@Lilysmom thanks....I can't hurt it....it's slower than molasses and the track pad no longer works....I see this as a challenge....If I can at least make it run faster, that would be great.

Esteemed Contributor

@Mom2Dogs, glb613 does this all the time.  She’s just what you need!  LM

Honored Contributor

When you reset it, you will lose everything.  It would be like you just bought it from the store.  You should be able to export your bookmarks to a file and then move that over to your other computer.

Honored Contributor

@Icegoddess.....hmmm, I use this particular laptop for printing to my home computer...guess I will lose that as well.  I think I have the book and software for the printer so that I can reinstall once I reset the laptop.

Honored Contributor

@Mom2Dogs  Before you do anything drastic, see if it has any residual value to apple or some other place as a trade in.  You never know!  

Honored Contributor