Esteemed Contributor

Please help.I Need I Pad advice!!

I'm in desperate need of a new tablet.I've been doing some research & have my eye on the I Pad Air 2 32gb wifi version.I currently​ have an HP10 with Android.

--Is it a good choice?

-- How easy would it be to switch from an Android to the I Pad?

-- Is there a way to transfer my contacts or do I have to manually re enter each one?

-- Can I transfer my pictures? How?

-- I have a Gmail email account can I transfer it over?

Thank you for any help/ information you can give me.I'm not at all tech savvy!!

Frequent Contributor

Re: Please help.I Need I Pad advice!!

Im not an expert by any means, but have had Ipads since they first came out.  You will absolutely love how easy it is to use!  Very intuitive and they offer classes to get you started.  

Do you have an iphone?  If so, have the apple store help you move your contacts and photos over to your ipad.  Somehow they use the cloud so both devices are always the same.  

Esteemed Contributor

@sugar22 I don't have an iPhone.I have a Samsung Android phone.

Honored Contributor

The iPad is so easy to use.My son recommended that I buy one because I am so low tec.I can't answer your questions but I can say that I can't live without mine.When I used a standard laptop I was rarely on the thing but the iPad is my greatest love.i can text my son and we can FaceTime chat...enjoyable.

Honored Contributor

Yes, it's a good choice as far as devices go.

I think the iPad is easier to use than Android devices, but keep in mind some things are proprietary. If you use a lot of downloaded apps, you will lose them and have to reinstall them. If you had to pay for them, you will need to pay again and if you had data associated with them, you may need to start over. Each app is different, so this applies to some, not others. You'll need to do the research.