Honored Contributor

New Macbook Air and Macbook Pro

So, both of these Macbooks I think are available for purchase today. I'm not a techie, but is this the second release of both of these for 2020? Also there is a new chip in them (I think exclusive to Apple), does anyone know anything about this, if so what do you think? Also for the average Joe, is a Macbook Pro overkill, would you be just as happy with the Macbook Air?

Honored Contributor

Re: New Macbook Air and Macbook Pro

@Jordan2 wrote:

So, both of these Macbooks I think are available for purchase today. I'm not a techie, but is this the second release of both of these for 2020? Also there is a new chip in them (I think exclusive to Apple), does anyone know anything about this, if so what do you think? Also for the average Joe, is a Macbook Pro overkill, would you be just as happy with the Macbook Air?

@Jordan2 I have a new air on order and it should be blazing fast and I hope the screen will be even better--but haven't seen it to verify yet.  The new chip is manufactured by Apple and not Intel.  It should be a times faster with an 8 core.

If you only need a computer for routine work, an Air is great.  If you are using it as the main computer for a business or for desktop performance and storage, you probably would go with the pro. 

I have had Mac Air's since 2011 and love them for my routine stuff and internet connection.  They are great for that. 

Honored Contributor

depends on budget 

if you go to Apples site there is usually a comparison chart to help you figure options

Honored Contributor

@Sooner I was on Apple's website, they offer two kinds of cables for an additional $19 each, are they necessary? Just curious which model did you order?

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Jordan2 

Not a techie, but I have both.

The Air is good for light web searching, and emails, it is not as flexible IMO, it travels with me.