Respected Contributor

IPad Air Pro2 and battery life question

I am new to the iPad. I was thrilled because it seems like I could use it for hours. DH wanted to test it for using GPS capabilities in his plane, so he charged it when it was down to 35%..

I got the notice that a new upgrade was ready, so I plugged it in and did that. I wonder if that was a good idea because after downloading it, it was repeating all the questions it asked when I was doing the initial set-up.

In short, it seems as if my battery power is draining rapidly. It was at 65% when I began writing this post, and it dropped to 63%. Is this normal?

DH told me he charges his every night, but he has an older 3G model. I know I read somewhere that it's better if you let it drain down to zero before charging-which does not sound practical.

Do you think I have a problem and should call Support, or is this normal and perhaps I'm taking notice of battery life because this is new to me.?

Thanks,

Poodlepet2

Super Contributor

Re: IPad Air Pro2 and battery life question

I have the same iPad. I find it depends upon what I do on any given day that determines how much and how fast the battery drains. If you play games, it will drain quickly. If you are on it all day long, it will drain faster than if you are not. If you play music or read books, it will go down quickly. One way to control the battery usage is to go into your settings and turn off constant background refresh on items where it is not necessary. For example, any apps, like TV Guide, where this is not really needed. I charge mine every night.

Honored Contributor

I have the IPad3, which I know is old. I get about 10 hours. I drain to 10% and then charge. I find the brightness affects mine. If I lower the brightness, it lasts longer than 10 hours.

Honored Contributor

Hi, @Poodlepet2!

Not sure which iPad you have, because there is no "Air Pro 2."  There is an Air 2 and there is a Pro, presuming the 9.7".