Honored Contributor

IPAD - new user and a couple of questions for the experts here

Just got a new Ipad and am struggling with it, as I am NOT good wth technology at all.

Any how --- can someone tell me --- how do you delete a bunch of e-mails, regular, and trash all at once instead of having to delete them one at a time?  I have been using an old IMac for a long time and it was very easy to delete bunches at a time.  On this thing I cannot find any place to do that.  Also, there is no breakdown in types of e-mails -- for instance --- on my IMac there was a topic for Primary e-mails, and say for instance other things like for shopping ones. etc.  Also, where are the emoticons??  I know these are probably dumb questions, but as I say, I am new to this and can't figure it out.  I need to go to the Apple store which is about an hour away and take a class but don't have time right now.  Thanks!

Oh, also --- does anyone have a recommendation for a particular manual or book to purchase that explains the specifics?  I see a lot of them on-line but not sure which one would be the one to get.  

"A day without sunshine is like, you know, night." - Steve Martin
Respected Contributor

Re: IPAD - new user and a couple of questions for the experts here

Emoticons:

when you start to type, on the lowest line to the left is a smiley face.  Touch it and you will have the bottom third of your screen filled with a running banner of emoticons.

Tips:

On your home page or swiping to the left for the second page, there should be an icon that says Tips on how to perform different actions.

Or, touch the compass icon to get to Google and type in your question specifying iPad.

Back when I started, I used iPad for Dummies, no insult intended.  I think there is also an iPad icon somewhere for a “ User’s Guide “ to the iPad.   ( try Google for locating it )