Honored Contributor

I Need Help Buying A New Laptop

Let me just state I am not tech savvy and would very much welcome any advice I could get! I want to buy a new laptop, and am interested in an HP. I have looked on their website, I'm thinking it is better to customize a laptop rather than get whatever Best Buy has in stock. I don't want a 2-in-1 and am looking at the HP Envy.I want the 7th generation Intel, but am not sure how much memory is enough. I don't think I want a touchscreen which seems to be optional on some models. I also read somewhere a touchscreen drains the battery. Now I saw a model HP Envy 15-as151nr and HP Envy 15-as152nr (I have no idea what the letters and numbers mean). Also do I need UHD or is HD good enough? I also don't know what SSD means as it pertains to the hard drive. If anyone can take the time to advise I would greatly appreciate it!TIA

Honored Contributor

Re: I Need Help Buying A New Laptop

@shark  just bought one.  She knows a lot about them.

Honored Contributor

I'm liking my new Apple Mac Mini.

Smooth and easy. Just have to learn how Apple does stuff as compared to Windows.  I already had my monitor, keyboard and mouse from my old Windows 10. Saved few hundred that way.

I was told I wouldn't have to worry about antispyware, antivirus, malware, etc. That's a time saver right there no constant updating all the time.

Security updates, your allowed to pick and choose what you think is necessary.  They don't come in constantly and haven't done any damage LOL

I would buy again !

Good luck !

Esteemed Contributor