Esteemed Contributor

Cost of getting computer help in your area

Without ranting about how I was treated this weekend, I am looking for a new computer person (tech) to come to my house and help with problems when they occur.  I am fairly intuitive so I have been able to do things on my own but when a problem arises and I need help I need to have someone to call.  I am wondering what the going hourly rate might be but after being badly burned I don't want to have a repeat incident. I may have found someone but I want to start off with clear guidelines.  

Honored Contributor

Re: Cost of getting computer help in your area

[ Edited ]

I've never had a computer problem that couldn't be fixed over the phone during a session with tech support at the appropriate location.  I'm certainly not the most computer savvy person, being self-taught, but I can listen and follow instructions.   Several times people here have offered advice that enabled me to correct a problem.  I don't know anyone who has a visiting tech come to their house. 

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Esteemed Contributor

@bonnielu On rare occasion when I need to call my tech guy his rate is $85 an hour.But there have been times when he worked for 3 hours & only charged me for 2.I've used him for about 13 years since he was a college kid.Now he owns his own tech business.

How much did you pay?

Regular Contributor

[ Edited ]

@bonnielu

Hi Smiley Happy

I use GEEK SQUAD! Heart They are great!

What types of computer issues do you most often need help with?

Do you have a pc? Or a mac?

Do you need help with the operating system problems, viruses, slow running computer?

Or, do you need help with specific software issues? Such as Microsoft WORD, EXCEL, Photoshop, etc?