Super Contributor

Black Friday HP computer question.

Item E234427 - is this a good computer for home?  Any information appreciated.  What about virus protection.  It states Windows 10 has virus protection.  I am not familiar with Windows 10.  Also does not have support so how hard to learn?

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Black Friday HP computer question.

Hi

If you check a few postings behind yours - we've been chatting about this printer.

I'm no expert but HP great for home or office.

Virus Protection question:  your computer probably already has protection.  This is just a printer - scanner - FAX.  I assume the printer is protected by - from your computer already.

Find a friend who can 'connect' the HP to computer (cable - software recognition - et) and you should be good to go.

I don't use wireless - which may involve more - but I'm not aware of what that might be.

$49 is excellent - Amazon has $70 - $99

Honored Contributor

Yes, it would be good for home. 

Need more information, though.  What operating systems are you familiar with?  

I think Windows is easy to use; however, I've been using it since it was released by Microsoft.

You can buy books that take you step by step.

Troubleshooting can be a bit tricky for newbies, but HP should offer a year tech support.  If not, do you have any techie friends or acquaintances.  Most of the time troubleshooting is easy to remedy without needing tech support.  Like turn off the computer and turn it back on.  

If there is tech support and not with HP, it's probably with a third party vendor.  You don't want that.  One recently went out of business.  It isn't listed, so I would ask QVC or call HP.  If not, unless you know someone, you might have to pay for it somewhere.  

Yes, Microsoft has Windows Defender anti-virus that I hear is good, but I use Norton.  

Super Contributor