Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor

Anyone have a Chromebook? Tell me about it.

[ Edited ]

I do everything on my kindle since my 10 year old laptop is beyond slow.  I'm not looking for anything fancy.  Not very technical. Someone said they have an expiration date.

Trees are the lungs of the Earth
Trusted Contributor

Re: Anyone have a Chromebook? Tell me about it.

I've had my Acer Chromebook 15 for years...absolutely trouble free.  I'd never go back to a standard laptop. I also have a Kindle that I've had for many years, slow now like yours.  I think you'd be happy with a Chromebook . I'm not tech savvy either, at all !  My Chromebook is 15 inches and is a touch screen.  For sure, get the touch screen, you will be glad you did !!!  (I have another Chromebook that is 14 inches and doesn't have the touch screen feature...ugh...not my fav.)

Honored Contributor

@MoJoV 

I own two CBs. I did some reading about them before my purchases and I thought I would pass along some resources for you to read. Here's a couple of very informative sites from Google who owns 'Chromebook'. The first link here will help answer most of your questions about CBs and the second link is all about Google's Auto Update Policy (aka: 'expiration date'). I'm posting these links b/c there's really tmi to post here about CBs.

https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/3265094?hl=en#:~:text=Chromebooks%20are%20a%20new%20typ....

https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/6220366?hl=en

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]