Respected Contributor

I will be upgrading my Samsung Galaxy s10+ in a couple weeks.  A friend of my recently lost all of her photos on her phone for no apparent reason, ugh.  I am by no means a techie and I can hear some eyes rolling now, but what/ how is the best way to ensure photos are stored permanently besides using photo sticks or saving to a desktop which could fail as well?  I want to get this done before I upgrade my phone.  TIA!  

Trusted Contributor

Nothing is failproof. If you're concerned about a backup failing or being lost, make more than one backup. You can use a computer, an external drive, a cloud drive, an SD card, a USB drive, a photo website, or any other device with storage space. You should back up your important computer files too.

Honored Contributor

Burn the photos onto a disc

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Super Contributor

The photos that I want to save on my phone are downloaded onto Amazon Photo...their app is avaible to put on your phone.  

So by going to Amazon photos you can see your photos on phone app and also on computer...can create albums also!

So new phone? just put Amazon Photo app on the new phone and you're all set Smiley Happy

Respected Contributor

@Mz iMac  Forgive my ignorance, but not sure how to do that via my cell. Thanks!

Honored Contributor

I have an older model (7), but I've allways kept an SD card  in my phone and any photos I take I move over to the card.  At any point you can take out the card and copy photos wherever your want.   

I actually set it up in 'settings' that whenever I shot a pic that it will automatically go to the card but I've found that isn't happening at all anymore so I have to go into it, after the fact, and move the photos.  I don't take that many photos on the phone, anyway, so it's no biggie.