New Contributor

I have been hanging on to 2 gift cards from QVC for the past 2 years that my MIL gave me. I have finally went to use them and one of them had already been used!! I called QVC, the CSR on the phone was able to tell me that someone used it, what they bought, and what state they lived in. AND IT'S NOT ME??!!!! I have been givin the run around and still at a loss. Saying you need to call Cash star and Cashstar says you need to call QVC. Its mind boggling!!! I've seen so many complaints on this forum about stolen gift card info. OBVIOUSLY there is a problem with QVC and their gift card carrier Cashatar. And it's UBER disappointing that this keeps happening to people and NOW ME!! How do you think it's possible and okay to tell someone who is trying to use a birthday gift card and to say that someone clearly in another state used and that it's my fault? ? Never again will I buy ANYTHING from QVC. I've had this gift card in my purse waiting on the chance to use and now this big let down. Customer Service is absolutely HORRIBLE! !

Honored Contributor

No idea how this happens, but I've seen the problem talked about here and elsewhere.  Just the other day in a financial column I read a suggestion that we use gift cards as quickly as possible, but I wasn't thinking about someone stealing them, just about having money sitting and doing/earning nothing.  By the way -  the thieves probably work the same way robo callers do -  they just pick a range of numbers on a computer and work until they find a :live" card.  Prpobably doesn't take much brainwork -  just no morality and a good computer.

One more reason I absolutely refuse ever to buy gift cards.  Tangible gifts or a check will have to do.

Respected Contributor

Absolutely the Q is not what it used to be.  Very sad to me.