Honored Contributor

Re: what is the one thing you are a absolute sucker for

@mcducky wrote:

Having worked 20+ years in social services I  try not to fall prey to street panhandlers. (On occasion I do.)  While I’m sure some are truly needy most are dodging responsibility.  A caveat...some mentally ill people have a terrible  go of it and disability payments are not even subsistence living.  To truly help I donate to the local food bank directly.  

If I know someone is in need I anonymously drop money in their handbag or slip money into a coat pocket.  

I’m a true believer in helping the working poor.

@mcducky

I can’t agree that most are ducking responsibility.  Many ended up on the streets when mental hospitals were all but closed down, and many are veterans with head injuries or PTSD and/or substance abuse.

Super Contributor

I am a combat Veteran that worked with Vets....my experience and education are considered in my post.

Honored Contributor

@mcducky wrote:

I am a combat Veteran that worked with Vets....my experience and education are considered in my post.

@mcducky

HUD estimates that on any given night, almost 40,000 veterans are homeless.  

Honored Contributor

By the way, that research is from the National Coalition On Homeless Veterans.

Super Contributor

I am well versed in this issue.  I have worked many a stand down and helped many Vets in many different venues.  My comments are “in general” and I stand by them.  

Honored Contributor

@mcducky wrote:

I am well versed in this issue.  I have worked many a stand down and helped many Vets in many different venues.  My comments are “in general” and I stand by them.  

So am I.

Honored Contributor

The National Coalition For The Homeless reports that 20 to 25% of the homeless are severely mentally ill.

Esteemed Contributor

When I walk I see homeless people with children and dogs. The signs say need food and shelter. I wonder if these people are just con artists looking for an easy mark.