Honored Contributor

@Desertdi wrote:

Been to the Wisconsin and California state fairs a number of times.    Went to the Arizona state fair ONCE.......it was awful in comparison to the others.

I remember attending the Wisconsin state fair in West Allis during my childhood.  My first exposure to NASCAR racing and yummy cream puffs.  Still a NASCAR fan (go Ryan Newman!), but my expanding waistline made the cream puffs only a sugary memory.

Esteemed Contributor

I've only been to our state fair one time shortly after I graduated HS.  I did go a few other times after that but that was only for a couple of concerts.

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, but Wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad.
- Author Unknown
Trusted Contributor

I haven't gone to the Minnesota State Fair in about 10 years because my husband is not as fan.  It is hot, with expensive but yummy food, and LOTS of people.  I still think it is fun.  Our best memory was seeing Keith Urban perform on the free stage.  He was great!

Esteemed Contributor

We have a big County Fair over Labor Day weekend. I enjoy taking the Granddaughter ONE day....Hubby would go every day if he could find someone to drag out there.

Many time when our daughter was young, they would go 3-4 days! She enjoyed the rides, animals shows and she even got her picture in the paper one year when they were showing her how to milk a cow.

Honored Contributor

The State Fair of WV is held in Lewisburg, in Greenbrier County, which is nearly a 2 hr drive away.   I was married before I ever attended the fair for the first time, and have not been since 1997, when I took 3 teenagers.