Trusted Contributor

Re: Would You Send Your Kids To Day Camp

@texassunflower    I could not agree with you more.  I am also a retired elementary teacher and know that kids can not be expected to understand the precautions we are hoping they will grasp.  I just had this conversation with my daughter.  Her little girl is going into second grade. Things will look much different this year.  Even though she has had online learning for the past 3 months...I really think that second grade will require much review to fill in the learning gaps.  I feel sorry for the classroom teachers as well. 

Honored Contributor

Jewel22:   'Ten Four'   (I hear you.  Heart)

'More or less', 'Right or wrong', 'In general', and 'Just thinking out loud ' (as usual).
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

I'm not going into detail here;

As far as longer camp stays, I'd research exactly who's taking care of the children while there.

Their age, experience, etc.

Daytime camp might be a better choice, although I think I'd wait until this virus has somewhat passed.

The day camp staff have to be very careful, and carry through on all of the rules and precautions.  

They can't be nicey-nice and let things go.  

Wishing the children well.

'More or less', 'Right or wrong', 'In general', and 'Just thinking out loud ' (as usual).
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I am not in need of child care.  But I have 3 daughters who for years struggled with daycare in summer, and sent the kids to community  day camps as an option.

iasked  my daughter this question, as her kids, my grands are out of high school now, with one out of college.  She says she doesn't think she would, but if forced to ,if no family member was available,  she might concider.  She was really torn with the question