Honored Contributor

Re: Why Do Bosses Make You Feel Guilty....

It's their job! I think it should not be allowed to work if you are sick.

Respected Contributor

Many years agp. I worked in a factory office...and we actually had unlimited sick leave! And, at least in my department--around 35 people, mostly women--nobody really abused it. Except for ONE (there's always one, isn't there?). She was "out sick" for at least one day in every two-week pay period. I don't know how she got away with it!

I rarely called in sick myself, but was one of two who had to cover this person's job when SHE was out. I called in one morning deathly ill, only to be told "Well, (this person) is out today, too." My reply was "So what else is new?" Why my very proper, strait-laced boss didn't fire me, I'll never know! But from then on, whenever I called in, all he ever said was "hope you feel better soon!".

In my younger days, I did feel guilty when I called in sick--until I realized that I wasn't getting any gold stars for making the effort even when I didn't feel well.

My poor mom worked in a "cotton mill" for 25 years and they didn't have sick leave. She couldn't afford to take a day off work, so went in sick often. I think it's why she was in such poor health after she retired...those 25 years just broke her down.

Honored Contributor

Sickness does not always start during the night so you wake up ill and call off. Sometimes you are ok in the morning and become ill as the day goes on, as was the case with my stomach flu. Had I known I was ill I would not have gone to work.  It started while ai was there. 

Respected Contributor

My personal view is that in our country, illness is looked down upon.  You are seen as weak and ineffective if you become ill.