Respected Contributor

What would you do i f you were me?

I have been working at home since December 2019. All of my job functions are done at home.  When I was hired I was hired to work at home  We have others on our team that also work at home. Since then we have a new boss and she wants me to come to the office 1 X per week now because she want us to socialize and get to know our other team members. Our office if fairly small and those who are there have not been using precautions. They get on zoom sitting side by side with no masks on.

I asked for an exception because I am high risk for serious complications because of my age, I turn 62 in 4 weeks, my weight, I have hypertension, sleep apnea, and I have a hix of pulmonary issues and damage to my lungs from the year that we had the H1N1 flu and I became severely ill. I take an inhaler and medications for my lungs. 

She said that I to come in but she would put me in an office alone and anyone who came in would have to use masks. Of course I was very upset and I used to work with the COO, so I contacted her to see if I do have to go in. I am scared of contracting Covid 19. I am still waiting for an answer. I guess for me, I don't see the point in having us come in when we have been set-up to work at home from before covid-19.

I also take care of my brother who is very high risk and certainly would die if he gets Covid. He has had 6 strokes, hypertension and diabetes. We are just getting him on disability now.

I have not been to a store except I order online from Walmart and drive into their pick-up area and they put my things in my car. I have ordered food on QVC, which I never did before, and I order some things from Costco. I have kept my self social isolated and now I am scared to death of getting sick.