Esteemed Contributor

What's the smartest decision you have ever made in your life?

........apart from marrying your spouse and having children, what has been the best decision you've ever made? For me, it was continuing my education. I have a couple of advanced degrees and that has made a HUGE difference in my life and the opportunities that opened up to me. I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts....

(please respond with something other than marrying your spouse or having children.....to make this more interesting and enlightening for us all....)

Honored Contributor

Re: What's the smartest decision you have ever made in your life?

Joining this forum.

Trusted Contributor

Getting baptized.

Honored Contributor

Ruling out the husband and sons, I'd say making the move from California to Washington for many reasons.

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

I had a choice of four jobs in 1985, one of which was in the NYC area (I then lived in Manhattan and didn't want to leave). The others were scattered around the country.

My smartest decision was to go with my gut instincts about the people I would be working with at all four places.  I chose FL even though I knew nothing about it; I do know about my profession, though, and that place seemed the best.  And I have been happy there for quite a while. 

The position near Manhattan would have had a punishing work schedule; the other two that I didn't pick  had tyrants in place controlling everybody.

I guess I think of this as an especially good choice because it had holding power for so many years.  I like to move around, and never thought I would be happy for so long in the same place.

Honored Contributor

@Goldengate8361 wrote: