Respected Contributor

Re: What's everyoone doing for gloves? Any recommendations?

@denisemb, as a nurse I can tell you what I have done the 2 times I have gone to the grocery.  I don't wear gloves.  I do have some here from when I took care of my mother, but they stay in the box.

And the reason I don't wear gloves is because I think, for me, they put me at greater risk wearing them in the grocery.   The reason people need to protect their hands is for the relatively small chance that a product or a surface in the grocery store has an active virus that has landed there from someone else.  If it is there and you touch it, you will pick it up whether you have bare hands or gloves.

When you get to the check out line, what would I do when I get ready to pay?  Reach into your purse, get your wallet, get your card, etc.  For the sake of discussion those gloves that has a virus that is viable can now be all over my purse, wallet, credit card, etc.  In fact, the risk would be fairly significant that by handling all those articles you would transmit the virus to at least one of those articles.  

I see women wearing gloves in the store in the check out line and that is exactly what they do.  

One should not use hand sanitizer on disposable gloves.  It does interfere with the substance of the glove and really you can't use it effectively when you have gloves on anyway.  So theoretically, one should correctly remove the gloves, discard them, and put on a clean pair before touching any personal articles you need in order to pay.