Esteemed Contributor

Re: What are your favorite memories of the "Good Old Days"?

Mom lovingly tucking me into bed every night...

Drive-In Theaters...

Mom whistling around the house (she was a beautiful whistler)...

School Dances every Saturday night..

Mom waiting up for me until I got home..

Sitting on the stoop outside our apartment house on warm Summer nights, while my "First Love" flirted with me from across the street (I was 14)...

Mom keeping a close eye on him...LOL

So many come to mind!

~~Formerly known as "WildFlowers"~~
Respected Contributor

I grew up in what was financial poverty . Left school at 16 to go to work so that I could buy nice clothes. When I got married we were fortunate enough so that I could stay home and raise our children. When they were old enough, I got my GED, an Associate's Degree, and finally a BS in Accounting. Worked for a while in real estate. These are my good old days, with a loving family, and all the nice clothes I only dreamed of as a young girl. 

Esteemed Contributor

I'm going for the favorite vice the "un-favorite."

My mother was one of 5 daughters and the only one to leave Michigan.  This provided me with many summer opportunities to fly back to Michigan (southwest) to live and work on my grandparent farm, as well as those of aunts and uncles.

My grandparents house was a typical 2 storey with cellar turn-of-the-century farm house: good size kitchen, pantry, large dining room with lots of walnut built-in china cabinets, large livingroom, master bedroom and a parlor - all on the first floor.