Super Contributor

Re: WHAT MAKES YOUR HUSBAND A GOOD HUSBAND?

Kind

Honest

Intelligent

Can do or fix ANYTHING with his hands

Works hard

Faithful

Great dad and grandpa

Tall, dark and handsome

Mercurial/moody

World's worst procrastinator

Can be sharp-tongued

He is helpful to me but does it on his own time frame which means I'm lucky if it'll happen before I die of old age, lol. 

He is FAR from perfect, but so am I. My husband grew up on a dairy farm and was himself a dairy farmer until our early forties. He was raised in a traditional gender-role world where men took care of the outside and women took care of the inside. He has come a long way, though, in seeing things differently.

He is a better cook than I am (and I'm a great cook) but rarely does any cooking if it's not on the grill. He isn't inclined to do anything inside the house unless I ask, and I have to be willing to wait (because ... procrastinator). He is a night person and I am a morning person. He works second shift and his workday ends at midnight since he is a manager. He unwinds till about 3am and gets up late morning. On weekends he doesn't really get it in gear to do things around the house and yard until my day is ending (4pm'ish). So I feel like I'm always waiting for him. Plus, we rarely go out because he is at work six out of seven evenings. Now, I'm so used to never going out at night that I don't even want to when we DO have the opportunity.

I can think of a lot of things I would want or like in a partner that would be better. But I might be trading off a different "list" of good qualities, as well. We have decided to keep each other. Smiley Very Happy

Esteemed Contributor

52 years of having a best friend at my side.  

Honored Contributor

I met my husband 45 years ago right after Christmas. We just "clicked" immediately.