Contributor

Unemployment insurance and small business owners

If you are a small business owner, please do not assume you do not qualify for unemployment.  Check into it, because many do qualify.

I'm not an expert, just trying to help.  I think sometimes people assume they might not qualify when they do.

if you collect a paycheck, good chance you qualify because you've paid into it.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Unemployment insurance and small business owners

[ Edited ]

@jackiew  you are correct. My sister and her son applied and are receiving unemployment, plus the $600.

Because of the Covid19 whether you paid into it or not, you qualify.

Honored Contributor

we have been trying to stay open and keep our employees working......moreso for the employees than for us. we have been quite slow, but have been able to maintain our payroll for them.

"The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing." - Albert Einstein
Contributor

Glad to hear that.  After reading a few threads here it seemed like some posters didn't know they could get any help.

Honored Contributor

@jackiew DH and I are small business owners, but do not pay unemployment taxes and were told we do not qualify.

Honored Contributor

@Mom2Dogs   Did you apply for 1 or 2 of the small business grants before the $$$ ran out?

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Honored Contributor

@Mz iMac    No, from what we are told it's for those with employees...we don't have any employees.  I understand there is 'something' coming out for shops like ours....we will see

If we are able to open soon, we will not apply for anything but if we have to be completely closed all thru May, we will reconsider.

Trusted Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Mom2Dogs wrote: