Trusted Contributor

Hi everyone. Do you notice the difference? I graduated in 2008 and let me tell you, it helped me understand how people felt during the Great Depression. 

A friend in need is a friend indeed.
Respected Contributor

Re: Unemployment Rate Hits 3.9%

That was a terrible time.  It has been improving every year since.

Esteemed Contributor

'Underemployment' is a factor many don't consider when talking about 'unemployment' numbers improving. How many people are taking minimum wage jobs because they were downsized &/or outsourced?  It skews the unemployment numbers dramatically. 

Honored Contributor

@Hippiified wrote:

That was a terrible time.  It has been improving every year since.

That depends on the State. 

In New Jersey the rate dropped 1%.  Currently N.J. unemployment rate = 5.0% icon_exclaim.gif

If I am not mistaken, the 3.9% rate the OP posted does not take into consideration the thousands of folks who STOPPED looking, benefits expired and/or who cannot find employment.

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Honored Contributor

@Ibby114So true!  And another problem I'm reading about is that lots of good jobs are not being filled because there aren't applicants with the skill set for the openings.    

Honored Contributor