Respected Contributor

@781Florist wrote:

Glad to hear the optimism from your Chamber of Commerce over the upcoming season.

I am in MA and while they expect that people will be descending on the Cape this summer in pretty big numbers the restaurants, clam shacks and merchants are having trouble getting enough staff to run their businesses as usual.  I hope folks will be patient with the kids who do take those summer jobs because they will encounter longer wait times and a lot of inexperienced staff.

Our family went to the Cape every summer when I was growing up. We usually stayed in West Dennis, Dennisport, Yarmouth, Brewster and Eastham. Loved it when we arrived there. Hopefully waiting in all that traffic will give the tourists a taste of what is to be.  We waited back in the 60's and 70's so that helped. Also, I worked in the hospitality industry for many years up here in Maine.  There will be some people that will complain about waiting no doubt about it.  But I'm hoping the majority of people will understand the circumstances and not take it out on the staff.

Frequent Contributor
Oh Citidiots.....what a name
Frequent Contributor
Dear Pat
Citidiots...never heard that one
Honored Contributor

Re: Tourists are arriving!

[ Edited ]

If you risk going inside a grocery store regularly, going on vacation is no worse of a risk. Especially if you don't fly, and if you don't go to crowded cramped indoor places. Visiting the beach and doing fun things outdoors seem to me to be very positive for mind and heart.

Take advantage of the nicer weather to take a break if you're so inclined.

I think eventually all of us who are not at high risk will figure out how to make these things work. And those of us who are nice people will continue to do our best to protect those who are at high risk.

When you’re accustomed to privilege, equality feels like oppression.