Honored Contributor

Today would have been my mom's 93 birthday. I knew her last birthday would be the last we would spend together. I'm sitting here so sad, crying and missing her terribly. Sunday will be the one year anniversary of her death, I feel the same one year later as I did in the beginning, there is no light at the end of the tunnel for me.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Today Is My Mom's Birthday

I am so sorry for your sadness. I was very close to my parents and I know the hurt I felt and still feel from their loss. I am praying for you.

My brother died suddenly last year and his birthday just passed. These dates are always hard.

I hope you can find some comfort. I'm thinking of you & sending hugs.

Honored Contributor

@Jordan2 , I'm no expert, and I don't know your situation, but I can tell you my experience. I lost my mom in 2003, and I was gutted. It takes time and the length of time is different for everyone, but eventually it gets better. You never stop missing her, but it becomes a beautiful memory.  You may need to talk to a professional or a friend, I won't pretend to know. Losing your mom is a unique kind of pain, and I wish you the best. 🌺

" You are entitled to your opinion. But you are not entitled to your own facts."
Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Esteemed Contributor

So sorry for your loss.  My Mom died last year on August 20.  She made it to 90 years old last May.  I had a feeling that would be her last birthday.  She had just come out of the hospital and was in a facilty before she went into assisted living.  The staff there were very accomodating in that they gave her a cake and sang to her and arranged for us to have a video chat with her, that I recorded on my phone.