Super Contributor

Thoughts on wireless collars

This is my first time posting in the pets forum. I didn't even know they had one. Anyway, I am looking to adopt a dog from an animal shelter. My boys have been asking for some time for one. I have three kids, boys ages 10 and 13 and a daughter who will be two on the 8th. We currently have a cat, Bella, and two turtles, Si and Shadow. I have put off getting a dog because I worry about it getting hit in the roadSmiley Sad Our neighbors have cows across the road and I worry the dog may try to check them out. Plus, I am looking to go back to work in the next couple of years and don't want to leave dog in the house all day. Getting to my title, has anyone had success with the wireless collars? Do they hurt the dog? Also, has any of you had success with dogs being both inside and out? Please be kind. I am trying to get as much info as I can before I check out the shelters because I am certain that I will see one and fall in love.

Contributor

Re: Thoughts on wireless collars

Interesting. €£
Regular Contributor

My sisters dogs have the invisible fence. Both dogs take the shock -- go out of the yard and run right into the street -- all the time. It's a wonder they haven't both been killed.

For that reason, (and for other reasons) -- I'd suggest that you wait until your yard is fenced to get a dog. You need to feel secure that your beloved pet is safe while you are at work.

BTW, you have my heartfelt admiration for wanting to adopt a shelter pet. Smiley Happy

Esteemed Contributor