Trusted Contributor

Re: Thoughts on outcome of derby?

@QueenDanceALot wrote:

I'm willing to bet that if Maximum Security were a Todd Pletcher or Bob Baffert horse that the contact would have been ignored.

I worked in the thoroughbred business for many years and have never seen so much talk about "lanes" as I have in the last 24 hours.  It's laughable.  People have been talking like a horse race is set up like a track and field event.  They obviously have never spoken to anyone in the business (in the USA) who know how much contact there is between horses on the track during a race.  But yesterday, the "rule" about "lanes" is front and center.  SMH.

I didn't watch the Derby as I don't watch horse racing anymore, I find it awful as I have seen too much of racing's dark underbelly.  All the "pretty" surrounding the Derby can't cover it up.

@QueenDanceALot    I wonder about the connections issue myself. I do think the DQ was warranted because it was so egregious but I'm shocked they did it in this race. Especially since the guy who originally claimed foul wasn't even bothered. I thought they'd just move on. Probably would have helped with all the specualtion if they threw the inquiry sign up which they didn't.

I heard the jockey of War of Will today and he's a class act. He said it was pretty bad and he was glad they didn't go down but he and the trainer didn't see the need to claim foul. It onl would have moved him from 7 to 6 and the felt it wasn't worth it.

Valued Contributor

The decision was fair.  But, sorry for Maximum Security and the jockey, but rules are rules.

Honored Contributor

@pigletsmom wrote:

@QueenDanceALot wrote:

I'm willing to bet that if Maximum Security were a Todd Pletcher or Bob Baffert horse that the contact would have been ignored.