Honored Contributor

Re: This Is the Age When You Become 'Old,' According to Four Different Generations

@CalminHeart wrote:

I'm a boomer in my mid 60s.  I'm not old.  I'm just getting started.  I get to do things younger generations would envy.  They can look down on older people if they want.  They don't know what they're missing!

@CalminHeart  I needed to read your post today...a much needed pick-me-up! I am 57 but feel like I'm 80. I worked very hard most of my life holding down 2 FULL time jobs with manditory overtime for over 20 years and had several health issues including being a lung cancer survivor.

In short, my wrinkles have wrinkles...oy! However, I have learned to accept them and think of it as my 'earning' every single one Smiley Happy

Honored Contributor

Re: This Is the Age When You Become 'Old,' According to Four Different Generations

That was really interesting, @lolakimono!

Honored Contributor

@Imaoldhippie wrote:

Nothing against you lolakimono, but I think this is a stupid, ignorant  article and a waste of time.

I thought it was enlightened, inspiring, and definitely worth reading and watching.

Honored Contributor

I think articles and surveys like that probably cause some to become old before their time!  I know many younger than me (65) who are old and it's not wrinkles or health issues - it's a state of mind.  If you think you are old, you will begin to act, dress and feel old!   While I like the events where retirees from where I used to work get together,  they can be a bit depressing when I see how many have become old in spirit and have changed the way they dress drastically to old styles, no longer exercise in any way, have quit caring about their looks saying I'm old why bother and shrug their shoulders.      

Honored Contributor