Honored Contributor

Free concerts in the park, just about every weekend.

jefferson

Honored Contributor

@Justice4all wrote:

I remember 'suicide Sid'...he was 1A and when he was called up, he slit his wrists at the draft board....he survived!

Wow.  I'm glad he survived @Justice4all

Respected Contributor

@Justice4all, I remember-believe it or not! My parents hated everything about that epoch in time.....but as I got older, I came to appreciate "Hair"- and that is not a show or movie my parents would have ever seen...but my DH and I love it!

Poodlepet2

Honored Contributor

Re: The Summer Of Love 1967

[ Edited ]

I was a young student and interning with an MD at the time.  He started working with and supporting the Haight-Ashbury Medical Clinic. 

People from SF were doing fine until kids from all over the country started pouring in, many with serious problems, drugs, kicked out of their houses.  The City did a lot to help them, shelters for them, the free medical center, free clothes and sandwiches provided by the Diggers, led at the time by the now famous actor, Peter Coyote.

Honored Contributor

I was in high school in '67 but I was fascinated by the whole scene and the music.  My BGF and I drove to the area when we graduated from high school.  

Honored Contributor

1967 was not a good year for me. I was 12yo and my dad was just deployed to Viet Nam. My memories of that time are mostly images of war scenes on the nightly news and fearing the worst.

Honored Contributor

@Noel7 wrote:

I was a young student and interning with an MD at the time.  He started working with and supporting the Haight-Ashbury Medical Clinic. 

People from SF were doing fine until kids from all over the country started pouring in, many with serious problems, drugs, kicked out of their houses.  The City did a lot to help them, shelters for them, the free medical center, free clothes and sandwiches procided by the Diggers, led at the time by the now famous actor, Peter Coyote.