Honored Contributor

Re: The Good Old Days......That Weren't

While not as dramatic as some of the great stories here already, I was a retail store manager in the 1990's. It was not a glorious job, and I shoveled sidewalks, cleaned bathrooms, mopped floors etc. right along with my crew, on a daily basis, and happy to do so. 

One day, we had a bat that was hanging right above our entry door into the store. It was out like that in broad daylight, just showed up one day, never there before. 

I called my district manager, as I really felt it unsafe (and I'm scared to death of bats), asking for permission and a purchase order number to call an exterminator. 

I was told to climb up there and knock it off myself. 

I didn't do it. 

Honored Contributor

@Carmie wrote:

Back in the early 80's, my husband was a police officer in the town we lived it.  They had no way to communicate or make phone calls if they were in their vehicle, except to converse with the county dispatcher who could relay a message to another officer or make a call and relay a message. 

Anyone who owned a police scanner could hear the calls.  There was little privacy, but they could ask somone to get on a different frequency if they had to, but it was not that effective.

They would use pay phones if they needed to call a person while they were in their vehicles. There were no cell phones. My DH carried a pocket full of dimes for this purpose.

Often, if it was a big emergency, they would knock on my door and ask to use our home  phone and a few times they just came barging in...scaring me to death.  I learned to keep the door locked.

Today, they have computers in their vehicles and cell phones.  

@Carmie 

This reminds me of my dad, who was a police officer in the late 50's on through the 60's.