Respected Contributor

The Good Old Days......That Weren't

[ Edited ]

In posting about my friend's experience with a non-wheelchair accessible vaccine site, I remembered a job I once had.

When I was a college student in Boston in the mid 1960s, my work/study job was weekend admitting office clerk at Beth Israel Hospital. The on-duty clerk was also the obstetrics runner.

Obstetrics runner??? Back then, at Beth Israel women in labor did not enter the hospital though the emergency room. They had to go to a side basement door and push the doorbell. Perhaps you're envisioning a bright shiny clean basement. No, it was dark, dusty and filled with equipment that was no longer used.

When the obstetrics button was pushed, a gong sounded over my desk and in the elevators to alert the operators to go to the main floor and wait for the runner. We then descended to the basement where I decided if I should use a wheelchair or gurney to bring the woman to the 8th floor OB unit.

Did I ever deliver a baby in the elevator? No, but close.

Anyone else have a job or responsibility that in 2021 seems almost unbelievable?    

Honored Contributor

Re: The Good Old Days......That Weren't

Good old days? This was back in 1963 ish. A woman who was an epileptic was fired because she had it. People were afraid to say if they had it. What a mess.

No family medical leave.

Child support? Big joke

And I could go on and on.

When I lose the TV controller, it's always in some remote destination.
Respected Contributor

@PickyPicky3   I had a job in the 80's where we needed to pick up equipment at one location and bring it over to another location, it was about a 1/2 block between buildings on one piece of land (off the main road on a dirt road).  The manager told me to get a shopping cart from a store and use it.  I told him that I wasn't going to steal a shopping cart and he needed to buy something to use......he bought our group a red wagon like little kids would use.