Respected Contributor

Re: Teachers you had growing up

My favorite teacher was my second grade teacher, Mrs. Rothman.  My Mom worked part time at the school and when she told me Mrs. Rothman was retiring, I went to see her and wish her the best.  Still was still as nice and caring as I remember.

My fourth grade teacher, for math, taught chess all year long.  Just about the entire class went to summer school.

Mrs. Chin, first grade teacher, was very strict and mean.  She'd pull you by your ear.

Honored Contributor

Our high school Business Law teacher.  

We had to memorize the law principles and be ready to recite the appropriate one when called upon.

When she passed away several years ago - the comments on our alumni FB page almost all recalled the same thing ... reciting law principles.

(funny thing .... it's been ?? years and I can still recite several!

Honored Contributor

Too many to list.  I was an excellent student and I loved school.  At all levels there were teachers who understood me, encouraged me, supported me.  I particularly remember Miss Daley from elementary school.  She lived in small house across from the school with her sister. The house looked like a gingerbread house.  Some kids, me included, would visit her at home to talk, borrow books, play with her cat, do puzzles.  Even when we moved on to middle school, we'd stop by just to say Hi to Miss Daley.  

Respected Contributor

Seventh great teacher.  My mother forgot day light savings time and sent us off to Sunday school an hour early.  The teacher lived next to our Church and saw me and my brother outside and took us into her house.  

My high school gym teacher broke her nose on the frame of the trampoline executing a flip.

Junior math teacher.  Boyfriend came to pick me up after school and while we were still in class, he honked his horn and our teacher said in class, "She'll be right out.  Everyone laughed.