Honored Contributor

Re: School Supply Lists Sure Include Lots of Things

No public school here is has said it is mandatory to buy supplies/ more supplies needed then for your own child/children. So where is the problem? You either buy them or not. Any extras the school/students/teachers/parents are grateful for.

Yes , they have donation drives for school  supplies. Also many have them for winter jackets/coats/shoes.

Yes, the school has a budget set aside for teachers (also the office) who need supplies. (not all requests are filled, or they run out in the middle of the school year)

In many schools there is a supply closet (some you have to ask the office for permission, and other supplies teacher/staff can get them)

Honored Contributor

@RollTide2008 wrote:
How much money are we talking about? I buy supplies generously every year and have never spent more than $50 or so. It seems like a small investment in my child’s education and in that of his peers.

I’m a forensic accountant and am not interested in following the money trail of a some glue sticks and a fistful of rulers and some filler paper.

But did you ever consider it isn't the actual monetary value of misappropriated things that is the most important issue here?

It is the fact that in some instances people have shared here, they are being lied to and large amounts of excess supplies apparently aren't going to kids who need them (regardless of their economic level) or being used in classrooms, but are being taken home by school staff at the end of the year. 

It is the issue of 'forcing' those who can pay, to pay for more than what is being used and needed. Kind of resembles our tax system. Various levels of government collecting taxes, but since it isn't their personal money, departments spending it excessively or unwisely, or simply self appropriating it.