Esteemed Contributor

Re: Safe deposit boxes aren't safe

The title of this thread does a great disservice to the many banks in this country who consider the safety of their customers' valuables as their top priority. I worked in the banking industry for 45 years and can attest to that.

One of my last jobs in a marketing capacity was to prepare the letters to be sent to safe deposit customers prior to closing a branch with safe deposit boxes. Letter #1 was sent regular mail to notify customers to come in and retrieve and close the contents of their box. Letters 2 through 4 were sent via registered mail with return receipt requested. The few customers who did not respond had their boxes removed under armed guard and transferred to the branch nearest to the closing branch. For a customer to say that they didn't receive any notification from their bank is hard to believe. Regulations require that; and internal and external auditors monitor how a bank handles bank closures as well as day to day operations.

I can't imagine any customer losing so many valuables as outlined in this article. Not saying it didn't happen, but based on the security I've seen, this is definitely not normal in any way.

Believe what you want, but also don't assume that all banks take no precautions with the safety of your valuables.

Honored Contributor

I have several friends who have safes that rival a bank safe.

Some of them are the size of a large closet (in fact they fit in a closet) top to bottom.

They have dials, etc like you see in the movies that are in banks!

I can't imagine what's in those safes.  I never asked as it's none of my business and ...... well...I'm not interested.

I've been with 2 of the people who've gone into their safes to retrieve something for me that they've kept ..... safe...for me.

I never worried if it'd be 'stolen' because it looked like what I think Ft Knox might look like....Ha!