Highlighted
Frequent Contributor

SEMI-RETIRING - FINDING PART-TIME JOBS

I've finally decided to semi-retire.  I'm 60 years old and I've been working since I was 13 years old.  Seriously, I've never been without a job.  I've finally come to the conclusion I don't want to get up at 4:30a.m., commute to the city, put in a full, busy day and then commute home.  Hubby and I are in good financial shape but I'd like to find a part-time job to at least cover for medical insurance (which is quite high in California). I've been looking through Indeed and Glassdoor but there's not much.  Do you guys have any other tips on finding part-time jobs?  Appreciate your help!

Honored Contributor

Re: SEMI-RETIRING - FINDING PART-TIME JOBS

[ Edited ]

@Spinach30 wrote:

I've finally decided to semi-retire.  I'm 60 years old and I've been working since I was 13 years old.  Seriously, I've never been without a job.  I've finally come to the conclusion I don't want to get up at 4:30a.m., commute to the city, put in a full, busy day and then commute home.  Hubby and I are in good financial shape but I'd like to find a part-time job to at least cover for medical insurance (which is quite high in California). I've been looking through Indeed and Glassdoor but there's not much.  Do you guys have any other tips on finding part-time jobs?  Appreciate your help!

Every single one of my jobs was because I networked among friends and acquaintances. I don't think there was a job I ever got that I didn't "know" someone before being hired. My dad did the same and he had a very interesting career. He worked until he was in his 80's and then got a lucrative job part time based on people who recommended him in the same industry.

Best of luck and I hope that you can put out some info to friends, family and acquaintances that you are looking for part time work.

Valued Contributor