Frequent Contributor

New warning (or not) for those received Social Security Checks

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/seniors-beware-new-con-targets-social-security-checks/

If it's not fraudulant emails about bank accounts or scam phone calls it's now this.

Honored Contributor

Re: New warning (or not) for those received Social Security Checks

I have never understood how reasonably intelligent people suddently get so stupid in their retirement.  You wouldn't have fallen for this when you were 30 or 40 or 50, so why now?  Be on your guard, people. 

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

Funny you should post this.  I got a call this morning.  It was from our local Sheriffs office asking if I was Bonnie and my husband was _____.  I never say YES so I said.  "what is this about."  It was about Federal Court.. something about being on a jury.  I am a retired teacher and have had 30 years of my rough and tough kids that I taught trying to put ONE OVER on Me.  So in my TEACHER VOICE, I said you have your records wrong.  No one my age is ever called to jury duty, nor my husband's age .. older then I.  This SHERIFF GENTLEMEN STAMMERED, THEN HESITATED and said We are going to send over police, expect them in a half hour.  Then he hung up. 

We live rural, a small town atmosphere.  I called the real sheriff and within a half hour a deputy was at the door taking down information and making sure we were safe.  I told him it was nice of him but not necessary.  He then said we want to check out anything that pertains to their good name.  Believe it or not it was one of my former students. 

My neighbor, my friend then called and asked me what happened. I love her to death but she is the neighborhood " I have to know everything."  I simply told her my hubby was taken out in handcuffs.  We had a good laugh and I then told her the truth. 

Respected Contributor

@bonnielu wrote: