Regular Contributor

Re: New to Medicare - Does anyone know this? (re: deductible)

@tarsmom wrote:

Thank you for your input.

I will call Medicare to confirm.  I know when I was an insurance agent years ago if a person met his deductible the last three months of the year, they did not need to meet a new one on Jan. 1.  

It just seems odd if someone turned 65 on 11/30/20, they only have 30 days to meet their deductible.  

Yes you will have to meet a deductible this year and it starts over January 1. Medicare does not have fourth quarter carryover.  I don't think many companies have had fourth quarter carryover for a few years now. 

Honored Contributor

You're better off with private insurance. You can't count on Medicare to be there for you in the very near future.

When you’re accustomed to privilege, equality feels like oppression.
"Power without love is reckless and abusive, and love without power is sentimental and anemic." - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr
Occasional Contributor

hello, i received a packet and booklet, with a number to call, as well as a medicare.gov link.  Its a nightmare, believe me, and we no longer have 100% medicare coverage as promised when we were working.

Occasional Contributor

hello, it will depend on which plan you go with, parts, advantage, gap, etc. you can find information on medicare.gov and can call someone who knows. Its a nightmare.

Occasional Contributor

Maybe. Depends on your choices, which are nightmares to say the least. 

Esteemed Contributor

@50Mickey wrote:

@Shelbelle wrote:

Please correct me if I am wrong, but I dont think there is a deductible with Medicare, I have been on it for 3 years and never had a deductible. 

Same with me. I am enrolled in a Medicare Advantage plan offered to retired GA State employees. I have never had to meet a deductible for office visits, tests or meds.  But thankfully I have not been hospitalized since being on Medicare so I don't know about that. 

@50Mickey