Honored Contributor

Re: My daughters college roommate quit school

My nursing school roomate was asked to leave mid first semester and they never put anyone in her space - I had the room all to myself until the end of that term. The next term I paid a little more and moved into a single room - best money I ever spent, even if it was on the 4th floor and I had to walk the stairs.I kept that room until I graduated.

Honored Contributor

School is not for everybody nor should it be expected unless the young person decideds that is for them.. many students only go because their parents expect it of them. In that case most of the time it is  just as much  a waste of money as the student goes through the motion of school, not wanting to be there at all or gain anything from it.  

Best the girl decided early and dropped out. Her parents are out less$$$ that way. They dropped a few thousand yes... but that is much less than if she stayed in school hating it and their paying for it .

She has the right to do what she wants as an adult.   You can have a great life  WITHOUT COLLEGE OR A DEGREE.  I made great money during my career... retired three years ago  and only had a high school education.  I was very happy doing what I did and it was very fulfilling. College is not the end all. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@petepetey wrote:

Thank you for being kind. Thank you to those that offered support.

Some here are very judgemental and harsh.

The college told my daughter it was hers and the girl leaving it behind did too.

So, why should she be stuck with it? She has no place to keep it. I do and I will keep it for now. 

I'm taking care of my daughter and I think many of you here would do that same. 

You may not like the responses, but they were based on the information you presented in your OP.  In your OP, you never said the other girl told your daughter she could have the property.  If you had, responses would have likely been quite different.

Highlighted