Honored Contributor

I am in my mid 60's and this is my first bee sting.  I was watering flowers on my deck and in the corner of the iron fence some bees were hanging out and I watered them and one or two came after me and I hit them but I still got it.  I sprayed Bactine on it which actually helped with the pain.  Then I went on line and found out about baking soda and water and making a paste and let it sit on for 10 minutes.  It takes down the swelling.  It did take some of the swelling down but I have no idea how long you experience swelling and discomfort.  I do not see a stinger.  If you are familiar with bee stings, please brief me.  Cat Mad

kindness is strength
Honored Contributor

I was stung for the first time in my life a few weeks ago, a friend immediately game me benadryl which stopped the swelling, unfortunately the su**ker hit a vein and i was black and blue for a week.

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Honored Contributor

If you did not find a stinger then most likely the thing that stung you may have been a wasp or hornet. Bees will usually leave a stinger behind but sometimes it won't get noticed because it has been swept away during the kaos.

Respected Contributor

If you ever get stung again and see the stinger, take a credit card and just swipe it away - don't squeeze it to pull it off - it pumps the venon into you.  I am highly allergic - if this is your first time, be aware of your symptoms.  If you feel suddenly tired or lethargic - get to an urgent care.  The itching will probably drive you nuts if he left venom.  They say meat tenderizer is good too.  Make a paste out of it. 

Honored Contributor

@Katcat1 wrote: