Trusted Contributor

Maybe someone can help me understand?

I see ads on TV for children to be educated via computer.  I wonder (I am a skeptic) how these children pass the grades.... how the children are tested.... how anyone knows if that child is really doing the studying or is someone else?  How does this really work?

I was an elementary school teacher for a few years and I loved going to school.  I guess I wonder how someone sitting on a computer is really learning?  As a teacher I knew from body language and interacting with the student whether my students were "getting it".

Could you help me understand? TIA

Honored Contributor

Re: Maybe someone can help me understand?

Some homeschooled children learn by computer. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

Are you talking about independent study or homeschooling? State law varies on homeschooling. Some states have zero requirements regarding testing or registering and some states have a ton of requirements. 

As far as are people "really learning" you do realize that institutional schools are a modern invention and that for millenia people learned outside of a formal school system. 

I'm sure you'll get lots of hand wringing posts though, knowing this forum. As a homeschooler I'm not interested in defending my legal parental rights, on this forum,  when it comes to educating my kids. 

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Honored Contributor

@game-on wrote:

I see ads on TV for children to be educated via computer.  I wonder (I am a skeptic) how these children pass the grades.... how the children are tested.... how anyone knows if that child is really doing the studying or is someone else?  How does this really work?

I was an elementary school teacher for a few years and I loved going to school.  I guess I wonder how someone sitting on a computer is really learning?  As a teacher I knew from body language and interacting with the student whether my students were "getting it".