Valued Contributor

MAYFLOWER 400 year anniversary

Today marks the 400 year anniversary of the Mayflower landing in America. "In 1620, a group of Pilgrims left England seeking religious freedom. Upon their arrival in the New World, they created the Mayflower Compact, which established self-governance for the colony and helped shape the nation that eventually became the United States of America."

I have been doing genealogical research for 20+ years. In the last year or two I have discovered I am a descendant of the following people who were on the Mayflower: William Brewster, Edward Doty, Stephen Hopkins, and Francis Cooke. It is estimated that there are between 10 - 35 million Mayflower descendants in America today.

Respected Contributor

Re: MAYFLOWER 400 year anniversary

William Bradford is my many times great grandfather.

“I heard the sound I had to follow”
In Your Wildest Dreams by Justin Hayward
Frequent Contributor

Thank you for reminding us about the anniversary of the Mayflower voyage.  Six of my ancestors signed the Mayflower Compact:  Samuel Fuller, John Howland, John Tilley, Peter Brown, Francis Cooke, and John Billington.  I have been researching my family tree for over twenty years, as well.  This year, I finally joined the Mayflower Society, just in time for the anniversary!  I am thankful for those who came before me and suffered such hardships for a better life in the new world!

Valued Contributor

@Hetty wrote:

I am thankful for those who came before me and suffered such hardships for a better life in the new world!

Yes @Hetty ! Me too. That's neat you joined the Mayflower Society. Was it complicated to do that? Was there a fee?

I just got a book that was recently written about Stephen Hopkins entitled "A Stranger Among Saints: The Man Who Survived Jamestown and Saved Plymouth." I also bought the commemorative stamps.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]