Esteemed Contributor

Re: Lifesaving Drug Goes From $13.50 A Pill To $750 A Pill, Overnight

2 candidates have made proposals concerning pricing. This needs to be a issue that all candidates should take a stand on.
Contributor

@Puzzle Piece wrote:

Interesting take son this thread.  Hmmmmm.  So MANY folks have offspring that chased after educational degrees that someone someplace has to employ them.  They require nice salaries and benefits.  That has to be generated somewhere.  Also those that invest in the stock of the drug companies want heavy dividends.  Not to mention the brokers who went to school in business to ask for a nice cut of the money to support their lives and whims.  Lots of folks have their hands in the pot.  If we are to offer our citizens what they consider decent jobs and salaries we must remember, the money has to come from somewhere.  YOU. 

Eh, I have an advanced degree from a Fancy University so I guess that qualifies me as an education chaser.  Some of my closest school friends and I make very little money doing work that we believe in and work that we hope benefits our fellow human beings.  There are still many people who believe that how you earn your money is more important than how much of it you earn.  I have certainly met people who could care less about the implications of their jobs so long as they're well paid; I personally find their company and their way of life to be disagreeable.

This nation wasn't built by people trying to finance a lifestyle, and I believe that most of my fellow citizens on this board would agree that our duty to provide life-saving medication at a reasonable cost outweighs our duty to provide indecently high-paying jobs to some Big Pharma hacks.  

Honored Contributor

@Anita Bourbon wrote:

@Puzzle Piece wrote: