Trusted Contributor

@Twins Mom wrote:

@Kachina624 

Its not just Kohl's and I don't believe its stores' fault. I believe it's an insurance policy thing.  ULTA gets hit here quite severely - same circumstances.  It does, however, make me hesitant to shop in smaller store like that because thieves usually armed.

The dollars walking out doors are crazy high. Someone has to be buying this merchandise..... Are we to believe those buying thus discounted stuff don't know where it comes from?

This is true. I worked in retail for over 25 years. I've seen how interactions between security and shoplifters has changed dramatically over the years. By the time I retired from retail, there was virtually no interaction, just surveillance. The loss prevention department's hands are pretty much tied.  Actually for a store, it is cheaper for them to let them walk and file insurance claims for the losses. More importantly, the mandates about interacting with shoplifters really come from the legal department. For a store, the only thing worse than shoplifting losses are lawsuits. Man, the things I've witnessed at work with my own eyes over the years are unbelievable. 😳

Esteemed Contributor

I guess I'll just disregard  the videos of stealing, McDonalds and Starbucks CEO addressing the problem of crime in their establishments . 

Wrong is still wrong just because you benefited from it.
Honored Contributor

@Spurt    We're not strapping guns on our hips here but we do have a concealed carry law and plenty of people are packin'.  For every honest citizen carrying a weapon, there seem to be 10 thugs with them and they're indiscriminate about how they use them.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Honored Contributor

@Kachina624 wrote:

@Spurt    We're not strapping guns on our hips here but we do have a concealed carry law and plenty of people are packin'.  For every honest citizen carrying a weapon, there seem to be 10 thugs with them and they're indiscriminate about how they use them.