Respected Contributor

Re: Kids Today: They Don’t Work Summer Jobs the Way They Used to

My daughter who is now 24 has worked since she wa 15, during school and college. 

She wanted expensive things that i was not giving her money for.

Honored Contributor

I don't think that the article itself was bashing kids today. But some of the posts have a subcontext about kids being lazy now and that not working somehow stunts their character or ability to deal with life.

~Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Honored Contributor

I didn't work an outside job until I graduated from high school.   My brothers and I had plenty of farm chores to keep us busy, which ended when my grandfather passed in 1971.   

My brothers, and my husband, made quick pocket money helping several local farmers with their hay for many years.   Right now, local farmers are having a hard time trying to find hard workers with strong backs to get bales of hay from the field to their barns.   It's cash money for hard work, but kids today won't do it.   More and more local farmers have transitioned from square hay bales to round hay bales, because they can at least move the large ones with their tractor.    

Honored Contributor

My employer always participated in a summer youth program for disadvantaged teens.  There were many menial chores they could help with in our office setting.  However, I found I had to sacrifice one of my regular employees to "babysit" them.  They were expert at hiding and doing everything from sleeping to endless chitchat on their phones.  They weren't worth the trouble. 

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Esteemed Contributor

@RedTop, my dh use to haul hay when he was a teen. It was good money, back then anyway.

I think a lot of what use to be family farms in my area, have been divided up and sold. They are now subdivisions. Its kind of sad to me.

Honored Contributor